Wheelbarrows Are Pretty Darn Cool.

On June 20th I chose to sit outside in the scorching heat of my backyard.

I planted myself on a few stones we have
 neatly laid out upon the grass.

I began searching our land around me, listening for God.

I hear the leaves on the trees swaying in the wind and the birds chirping in joy at the beautiful and humid day.

My gaze soon stopped on a wheelbarrow. A red wheelbarrow propped upside down against our sturdy wooden fence.

IMG_4891

I soon began thinking – what could The Lord teach me through an old and simple  wheelbarrow as this?

What is my worth compared to the worth of a wheelbarrow? It’s “life” is easy… surviving outside withstanding the rain, snow, heat… Okay maybe not that easy but even so, it’s “life” easier then my life right?


God spoke to me in these moments.

No Alex you are wrong.

See the wheelbarrow for what it truly is – you know it’s worth – That wheelbarrow has allowed you to carry some of the heaviest things you never thought you could possibly lift. Once you placed a heavy object within it, BAM lifting that object become an easy task.

That red wheelbarrow may not be of need on a daily basis, but I know for a fact that when we uprooted our pool in our backyard – that thing was of dire need!

You are like that wheelbarrow Alex.

You may not feel as if you are of value on a daily basis – but in the whole scheme of things you are needed – you are of value in this life you live.

Things in life can get super heavy, and some wheelbarrows are built to carry those heavy pieces of rock, cement & brick – but other times they are made to rest & bake in the sunlight & watch as the world goes by.

Life is a journey.

As the wheelbarrow that I am, I do my best at taking one trip at a time while praying for a few lighter loads on the way.

Today I pray to be used. I pray to be used in God’s Holy Kingdom Today.


Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?

Mathew 6:26

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close